Missouri State Championship Preview

Missouri Class 4 and Class 5 begin bracket play today. District winners need two more wins to reach the Final Four and four more wins to become state champions. The semifinals and state championship will be held at T.R. Hughes Stadium in O'Fallon, June 5-6.

Class 5

#3 Liberty (28-7) battles 2013 4th place finisher, #6 Staley (27-5). #2 Lee’s Summit West (27-3) is matched against returning Sectional winner Blue Springs South. 2013 3rd place finisher, Willard (22-10) will face #4 Nixa (24-4). Rolla (18-10) takes on Rock Bridge (20-12). Rock Bridge has won 5 straight District championships. Defending State Champion Francis Howell (26-10) will face Ft. Zumwalt South (23-9). In a rematch of last year’s Sectional game Hazelwood West (18-8) battles SLUH (22-5). SLUH won last year 2-1. The streaking Parkway Central (13-12) is paired with #9 Marquette (23-4). Poplar Bluff (17-3) will face #5 Vianney (27-7).


Van Horn (15-11) battles #5 Smithville (18-9). Marshall (8-21) is matched up against #8 Pembroke Hill (24-4). Monett (17-9) will play Clinton (21-6). Eldon (13-13) faces last year’s 3rd place finisher, #3 Logan –Rogersville (24-5). St. Charles West (18-6) will go up against Mexico (20-7). In a rematch of last year’s Sectional game, St. Mary’s (St. Louis) (10-15) battles Clayton (12-14). St. Mary’s won the game last year 2-1. In another rematch from last year, #4 Lutheran South (25-7) will have the pleasure of facing 3-Time defending State champion, #1 Westminster Christian  (27-5). Westminster Christian won last year’s game 4-1. Central (Park Hills) (19-10) is matched up against #2 Cape Notre Dame (23-3).

All winners will play again this Thursday in the Quarterfinals.