NCBCA Honors Coaches and Players from 2017

Brandon Hall
North Carolina Director of Scouting

This past weekend, the North Carolina Baseball Coaches Association (NCBCA) held its annual convention in Greensboro.  The weekend provides an opportunity for coaches across the state, at varying levels, to get together and honor coaches and learn from speakers. 

The banquet to honor coaches for their efforts in the past year, as well as career long contributions, was held on Friday night.  State champions, regional coaches of the year, regional assistant coaches of the year, and the induction ceremony for newly elected members to the NCBCA Hall of Fame took place. 

In the coming days we will cover the Hall of Fame inductions along with the long list of accomplishments from each coach.  Below we take a look at some of the award winners from the NCBCA convention.

Regional Head Coach of the Year

Four state champions were also awarded the Head Coach of the Year for their Region.  Robert Jordan (Edenton Holmes HS – Region 1), Brett Harwood (Whiteville HS – Region 4), Landon Kimrey (Northern Guilford HS – Region 5), and Scott Davis (Wesleyan Christian Academy – Private Schools) each took home the honor for their respective region. 

Coach Jordan and Edenton Holmes stormed through the regular season and state tournament to claim the 2A State Championship with a final record of 28-3.  The Aces gave up 7 total runs in the their 8 state tournament games, sweeping the East Regional Final over South Granville and the State Final over RS Central HS.

Coach Harwood led Whiteville HS to the State Championship in thrilling fashion, with an overall record of 25-6.  Led by the PBR National Player of the Year MacKenzie Gore, a first round pick of the Padres, the Wolfpack threw 4 shutouts in the state tournament.  The most exciting game was the closeout game at NC State in the State Finals, scoring 5 runs in the bottom of the 7th to overcome a 4 run deficit and win the title. 

Coach Kimrey and the Northern Guilford Nighthawks weathered some injuries and a tough schedule to go 31-5 while capturing the state title.  Both the Regional Final and the State Final went to a third and decisive game, with the Nighthawks winning one run affairs in each contest.  Fourteen total games from the 2017 slate were decided by 2 runs or less, with Coach Kimrey’s team winning 9 of those contests. 

Wesleyan Christian Academy also won in a dramatic fashion, sweeping through the state tournament, and ending with a walk-off single in the 12th inning to give Coach Davis a state title.  An overall record of 27-1, with the only defeat coming to Southeast Guilford in a spring break tournament by a score of 2-1.  The Trojans played a demanding schedule against several top teams, at all levels, from the triad and out of state.

State Champions
1A  -  Brett Harwood – Whiteville HS
2A  -  Robert Jordan – Edenton Holmes HS
3A  -  Landon Kimrey – Northern Guilford HS
4A  -  Eric Filipeck – TC Roberson HS

Regional Head Coach of the Year
Region 1  -  Robert Jordan – Edenton Holmes HS
Region 2  -  Richard Foy – New Hanover HS
Region 3  -  Rod Whitesell – Holly Springs HS
Region 4  -  Brett Harwood – Whiteville HS
Region 5  -  Landon Kimrey – Northern Guilford HS
Region 6  -  Steven Hodge – Crest HS
Region 7  -  Jack Moss – Forbush HS
Region 8  -  Adam Clonts – Murphy HS
Private Schools  -  Scott Davis – Wesleyan Christian Academy

Other Award Winners

Regional Assistant Coach of the Year
Region 1  -  Chuck Humphrey – JH Rose HS
Region 2  -  Carl Whittington – Spring Creek HS
Region 3  -  Brandon Lusk – Clayton HS
Region 4  -  Fielding Hammond – Whiteville HS
Region 5  -  David Brame – Northern Guildford HS
Region 6  -  Brian Harrill – Hough HS
Region 7  -  Tony Welborn – North Wilkes HS
Region 8  -  Jackie Corn – North Henderson HS
Private Schools  -  Jeff Lucia – Providence Day School

North Carolina Player of the Year
1A  -  MacKenzie Gore – Whiteville HS
2A  -  Justin Bullock – South Granville HS
3A  -  Owen White – Carson HS
4A  -  Austin Beck – North Davidson HS

PBR Player of the Year Award (MacKenzie Gore) release

Regional Field of the Year
Region 1  -  Manteo HS – Alfee Wheeler
Region 2  -  Rosewood HS – Jason King
Region 3  -  Orange HS – Dean Dease
Region 4  -  Triton HS – Joey Miriello
Region 5  -  Reagan HS – Gary Nail
Region 6  -  South Stanly HS – Terry Tucker
Region 7  -  Mooresville HS – Jeff Burchette
Region 8  -  Asheville HS – Bill Hillier
Private Schools  -  Charlotte Country Day – Mike Hennessey

Coaching Milestones

Milestone Wins from 2017
100 Win Club  -  Scott Jones – Greene Central HS
100 Win Club  -  Leonard Allen – Riverside HS
100 Win Club  -  Harold Shepard – Pisgah HS
100 Win Club  -  Sean Hassel – East Montgomery HS
200 Win Club  -  Derik Goffena – Garner HS
200 Win Club  -  Jack Moss – Forbush HS
200 Win Club  -  Chris Matile – East Lincoln HS
300 Win Club  -  Mike Miragliuolo – Green Hope HS
300 Win Club  -  Jeff Hewitt – Pinecrest HS
400 Win Club  -  Travis Poole – Weddington HS
500 Win Club  -  Charles Davis – CB Aycock HS
600 Win Club  -  Greg Simmons – Charlotte Christian School

Years of Service
20 Year  -  Mike Joyner – Wake Forest HS
20 Year  -  Jason Smith – Southern Alamance HS
20 Year  -  Jeff Burchette – Mooresville HS
30 Year  -  Dean Dease – Orange HS

See Pictures from the Banquet and Convention HERE.

Follow the NCBCA
+ Their Website
+ On Facebook