Prep Baseball Report

2024 MLB Draft: Top 50 College Pitchers

By David Seifert
Director of College Scouting

The 2024 MLB Draft is quickly approaching with Day One (the first 74 picks) scheduled to begin this Sunday from Arlington, Texas. Although the first several picks are all expected to be college position players, this year's college draft class boasts several high-end college pitching prospects starting with Chase Burns (Wake Forest) and Hagen Smith (Arkansas). Both of these hurlers should be selected within the top-10 overall picks.

Just behind Burns and Smith is Trey Yesavage (East Carolina), who fills the zone with three plus pitches, including a fastball up to 96-97 mph and an invisible slider. The right-hander will likely be selected in the middle of the first round.

A few picks behind Yesavage is likely where switch-pitcher Jurrangelo Cijntje (Mississippi State) and power arm Brody Brecht (Iowa) will be chosen. Both possess power sliders and fastballs in the mid-90s with Brecht tickling triple-digits on occasion.

Overall, the first round is likley to see five collegiate arms selected.

For a more detailed look at the top college pitching prospects, please see:

     + Top 10 Left Handed Pitchers
     + Top 10 Right Handed Pitchers

For a look at this year's MLB Draft coverage in the lead-up to Sunday, check out the links below:


1 Chase Burns RHP Wake Forest
2 Hagen Smith LHP Arkansas
3 Trey Yesavage RHP East Carolina
4 Jurrangelo Cijntje* BHP Mississppi State
5 Brody Brecht RHP Iowa
6 Carson Benge RHP Oklahoma State
7 Jonathan Santucci LHP Duke
8 Luke Holman RHP LSU
9 Jac Caglianone LHP Florida
10 Ryan Johnson RHP Dallas Baptist
11 Ryan Forcucci RHP UC-San Diego
12 Chris Cortez RHP Texas A&M
13 Gage Jump LHP LSU
14 Aiden May RHP Oregon State
15 Bryce Cunningham RHP Vanderbilt
16 Ben Hess RHP Alabama
17 Drew Beam RHP Tennessee
18 Payton Tolle LHP TCU
19 Ryan Prager LHP Texas A&M
20 Josh Hartle LHP Wake Forest
21 Carter Holton LHP Vanderbilt
22 Tyson Neighbors RHP Kansas State
23 Khal Stephen RHP Mississippi State
24 Connor Foley* RHP Indiana
25 Mack Estrada RHP Northwest Florida State JC
26 Nate Dohm RHP Mississppi State
27 Carson Dorsey LHP Florida State
28 Jackson Kent LHP Arizona
29 Thatcher Hurd RHP LSU
30 Brady Tygart RHP Arkansas
31 Gage Ziehl RHP Miami
32 Daniel Eagen RHP Presbyterian
33 Michael Massey RHP Wake Forest
34 L.P. Langevin RHP Louisiana-Lafayette
35 Jacob Kmatz RHP Oregon State
36 Jay Woolfolk RHP Virginia
37 Brian Holiday RHP Oklahoma State
38 Matt Ager RHP UC Santa Barbara
39 LeBarron Johnson Jr. RHP Texas
40 Dalton Pence LHP North Carolina
41 Greg Farone LHP Alabama
42 Brandon Neely RHP Florida
43 Greysen Carter RHP Vanderbilt
44 Ryan Lambert RHP Oklahoma
45 Luke Sinnard RHP Indiana
46 Mason Molina LHP Arkansas
47 Conner Ware LHP Pearl River JC
48 Braden Davis LHP Oklahoma
49 Griffin Herring* LHP LSU
50 Jared Spencer LHP Indiana State
*indicates draft-eligible sophomore