Inaugural Midwest Select Announced

PBR Staff

Prep Baseball Report is excited to announce the inaugural PBR Midwest Select. This invite-only tournament will consist of top teams and programs from Illinois, Indiana, Michigan and Ohio. The event dates will be April 13-14 and all games will be played at Grand Park in Westfield, IN.

“The PBR Midwest Select will give programs and athletes in the region an opportunity to showcase their baseball talent,” National Supervisor Nathan Rode said. “Much of the spring season is highlighted by warm weather states, but there is excellent baseball to be seen in the Midwest. This event will hopefully bring attention to the great competition and atmosphere that high school baseball creates.”

Each team will play two or three games in a round-robin format. Teams will be playing for state pride, as they will go up against others from surrounding states.

In the weeks leading up to the event, PBR will release detailed information on the participating teams. The following teams make up the inaugural PBR Midwest Select:

Archbishop Moeller HS, Ohio
Cathedral HS, IN
Edwardsville HS, IL
Joliet Catholic Academy, IL
Kokomo HS, IN
Mason HS, OH
Massillon Jackson HS, OH
O’Fallon HS, IL
Portage Northern HS, MI
Providence HS, IN
Roncalli HS, IN
Sandburg HS, IL
Tallmadge HS, OH

Three players from the 2018 High School Draft 100 will be in attendance, including Indiana’s top two 2018 prospects. OF Nick Schnell (Roncalli HS, IN) is ranked No. 1 in Indiana and No. 34 in the country while RHP Jack Perkins (Kokomo HS, IN) is the state’s No. 2 prospect. He is No. 56 in the country. Ohio’s No. 2 prospect, 3B Nick Northcut (Mason HS, OH), will also be in attendance. He is ranked No. 74 in the High School Draft 100. Three others from Indiana’s top 10 will be there in 2B Jared Poland (Cathedral HS, IN), SS Tim Borden (Providence HS, IN) and RHP Bayden Root (Kokomo HS, IN) while Illinois will be represented by three top 25 prospects in SS Branden Comia (No. 3; Sandburg HS, IL), RHP Hayden Juenger (No. 12; O’Fallon HS, IL) and RHP Evan Tenuta (No. 22; Sandburg HS, IL).

Premium Content Area

This article is only available to PBRPlus Subscribers. If you wish to continue reading this article:

CLICK HERE to login
CLICK HERE to purchase a PBRPlus Subscription