Prep Baseball Report

2024 MSHSAA Playoffs: Class 5, District 7 Preview

By: Diego Solares
Central Region Media Director, Scouting

The 2024 MSHSAA District playoffs are set to start tomorrow, May 10th, for Classes 1-through-4, with the Class 5 and Class 6 bracket kicking off next week. From now until then, teams across the state will compete for an opportunity to capture a District crown and punch their ticket to Sectionals, and ultimately a spot in Ozark. 

Over the next few days, our staff will be previewing each District for Class 5 and Class 6. Here are the Districts we have previewed so far: 

+ Class 6, District 8
+ Class 6, District 7
+ Class 6, District 6
+ Class 6, District 5
+ Class 6, District 4
+ Class 6, District 3
+ Class 6, District 2
+ Class 6, District 1
+ Class 5, District 8

Below you’ll learn more about Class 5, District 7 and its outlook with the playoffs set to start next week.

+ Webb City (23-7) spent a large majority of the season inside our ‘Large School’ top 15 rankings as one of the top teams in all of Class 5. As a program, the Cardinals made it to the ‘Final Four’ last spring and fell in the sectionals to eventual state champion Platte County in 2022. Their offense is a potent bunch that’s capable of putting up runs in bunches, scoring 10+ runs in 10 of their 30 games. The Cardinals have picked up a few key wins this season, defeating Branson twice, Rock Bridge, Republic, Ozark, Willard, and Nevada. Once again, Webb City looks like the favorite in this District and a true contender for the Class 5 crown. 

+ Carl Junction (16-16) fell to the aforementioned Cardinals in the District championship game last spring and the Bulldogs are back as the two seed in this year’s grouping. They’ve played a tough schedule this spring, matching up with nearly all of the top teams in southwest Missouri at various points throughout the regular season, several of them residing in Class 6. 

+ Warrensburg (12-12) is the third seed and Belton (9-22) checks in as the fourth seed. Raytown (7-13), Raytown South (6-19), McDonald County (4-20), and Grandview (4-17) are the final four seeds in the District. 


Host: Belton 

1. Webb City
2. Carl Junction
3. Warrensburg
4. Belton
5. Raytown
6. Raytown South 
7. McDonald County
8. Grandview