Prep Baseball Report

2024 MSHSAA Playoffs: Class 6, District 1 Preview

By: Diego Solares
Central Region Media Director, Scouting

The 2024 MSHSAA District playoffs are set to start tomorrow, May 10th, for Classes 1-through-4, with the Class 5 and Class 6 bracket kicking off next week. From now until then, teams across the state will compete for an opportunity to capture a District crown and punch their ticket to Sectionals, and ultimately a spot in Ozark. 

Over the next few days, our staff will be previewing each District for Class 5 and Class 6. Here are the Districts we have previewed so far: 

+ Class 6, District 8
+ Class 6, District 7
+ Class 6, District 6
+ Class 6, District 5
+ Class 6, District 4
+ Class 6, District 3
+ Class 6, District 2

Below you’ll learn more about Class 6, District 1 and its outlook with the playoffs set to start next week. 

+ Jackson (24-7) made the trip to Ozark last year and the Indians earned the top seed in this District after another successful season. Despite graduating a multitude of key pieces from that team, the Indians captured their conference crown and look the part of a formidable club once again. Jackson’s ability to claw and compete at the plate stands out, and the Indians also have one of the top arms in the state in John-Paul Sauer (2024; Tulane), who will give them a chance to win each game he’s on the mound. 

+ Oakville (16-11) earns the second overall seed in this grouping. The Tigers have a trio of talented arms that have all thrown well in 30+ innings of work. Sophomore CJ Lake (2026) has allowed just five earned runs in 33 ⅔ innings, pitching to a 1.04 ERA with 42 strikeouts and 18 walks. Adam Kilburn (2025; Tennessee) has power stuff on the mound, fanning 56 with a 2.01 ERA in 31 ⅓ innings on the hill. Jack Werkowitch (2025; Lindenwood) also has swing-and-miss stuff, punching out 60 in a team-high 43 innings to the tune of a 2.12 ERA. Bryce Mauer () and Aiden Zehnle (2026) are two more arms that have thrown over 20 innings for Oakville, finding success in their opportunities. Pitching is the strength of this club, but the Tigers do have a few bats swinging it well ahead of these playoffs, like Gabe Huelsing (2025), Noah Scheller-Houska (2024), Sean Forbes (2024; Jefferson JC), and Roenick Selby (2024).

+ Seckman (17-11-1) checks in as the three seed in this District. The Jaguars bring a fierce offense to the field with multiple bats scattered throughout the lineup that are able to do damage in any given at-bat. Ryan Bradford (2025; Kansas State) has been one of the top hitters in the area this spring, slashing .468/.571/.785 with 13 extra-base hits, 20 RBI, and almost three times as many walks (17) as strikeouts (6). Brady Vessells (2025) is enjoying a breakout junior campaign, totaling 18 extra-base hits in 21 RBI with a .402/.505/.732 triple-slash. Nathan Higgins (2024; St. Louis CC) leads the way with 30 RBI and a .410 batting average, and others like Connor Day (2025), Tyler Tipton (2024), Hayden Boyd (2024; Jefferson JC), and Kody Brown (2024; Lake Land JC) are all having productive springs. Carter Hutsell (2024; Columbia College) has been Seckman’s top arm this spring, allowing just five earned runs (0.83 ERA) and 11 walks in 42 innings. Kayden Kohlberg (2024; SEMO) brings the juice to this staff, striking out 44 in 39 innings of work with a 2.33 ERA. Freshman Max Jones (2027) has thrown the ball well in his first season at the varsity level, logging a 1.35 ERA over a 26 inning workload. 

+ Lindbergh (18-14) found their way inside our ‘Large School’ top 15 rankings at one point this spring and the Flyers are the fourth seed in this District with the regular season at a close. They swept Vianney earlier this season and also took games over Fort Zumwalt South, Blue Springs South, and Lafayette. Michael Politte (2024; Memphis) provided the thump for the Flyers’ offense, slashing .342/.495/.633 with 14 extra-base hits and 22 RBI. Lane Elder (2025) drove in a team high 30 runs and totaled 12 extra-base hits, bringing a .398/.459/.580 triple-slash to the table. Ethan Cantareria (2025; Lindenwood) swings a productive left-handed stick and adds another quality stick to the middle of this lineup. Luke Steiner (2025) and Jack Politte (2027) led the way on the mound, while Eli Woodall (2024; Lindenwood) and Adler Crask (2025) are two other names to know in this pitching staff. 

+ Fox (17-9) is the fifth seed in this District. The Warriors are led at the plate by Lucas Urschler (2025) and Ethan Mazzola (2025). Urschler slashed .451/.550/.573 with 13 walks to five strikeouts and he stole 14 bags as well. Mazzola homered twice and drove in a team high 17 runs, hitting .341/.443/.500 in 97 plate appearances. He also led the way on the mound with a 1.40 ERA and 74 strikeouts to just 12 walks in 50 innings of work. Andrew Bendler (2025) fanned 45 and walked just 18 in 35 ⅓ frames to the tune of a 2.58 ERA for the Warriors. 

+ Poplar Bluff (19-11) finished the regular season eight games above the .500 mark and is the sixth seed in this District. Kolby Greenwall (2024) has been nothing short of stellar at the plate for the Mules in 2024, slashing .516/.583/.796 with 14 extra-base hits and 34 RBI across 108 plate appearances. Kade Huffman (2026) is a sophomore that’s been plenty productive too, leading the team with 38 RBI and an impressive .451/.557/.549 triple-slash to pair. Bryce Dobbs (2026), Noah Spain (2025), Dylan Bratcher (2024), Dylan Hall (2025), and Rylan Seesengood (2024) are all having strong years at the plate for Poplar Bluff. Bratcher holds the title of staff ace, posting a 1.42 ERA with 53 strikeouts and just 15 walks in 44 ⅓ innings on the mound. 

+ Mehlville (15-11), the seventh seed, will be a tough out when talented sophomore Jase Mayberry (2026) is on the mound. The left-hander has been stellar for the Panthers, pitching to a perfect 8-0 record with a 1.35 ERA and 48 strikeouts to 14 walks in 46 ⅔ innings of work. 

+ Northwest - Cedar Hill (7-18-1) is the eighth and final seed in this District. 


Host: Lindbergh

1. Jackson
2. Oakville
3. Seckman
4. Lindbergh
5. Fox
6. Poplar Bluff
7. Mehlville
8. Northwest (Cedar Hill)