Prep Baseball Report

2024 MSHSAA Playoffs: Class 6, District 2 Preview

By: Diego Solares
Central Region Media Director, Scouting

The 2024 MSHSAA District playoffs are set to start tomorrow, May 10th, for Classes 1-through-4, with the Class 5 and Class 6 bracket kicking off next week. From now until then, teams across the state will compete for an opportunity to capture a District crown and punch their ticket to Sectionals, and ultimately a spot in Ozark. 

Over the next few days, our staff will be previewing each District for Class 5 and Class 6. Here are the Districts we have previewed so far: 

+ Class 6, District 8
+ Class 6, District 7
+ Class 6, District 6
+ Class 6, District 5
+ Class 6, District 4
+ Class 6, District 3

Below you’ll learn more about Class 6, District 2 and its outlook with the playoffs set to start next week.

+ This District may be the deepest one in Class 6, with multiple teams in this grouping capable of finding themselves playing for the championship on Saturday, May 18th. Lafayette (20-12), who won this District last year, earned the top seed after a strong spring. The Lancers won three games against Rockwood Summit and also have victories over Blue Springs, Liberty (KC), Parkway South, two over Kirkwood, SLUH, Jackson, and Eureka. Daxton Shawke (2024), Xander Schmitt (2024; Kansas), Paul Pratte (2024; Drury), and Michael Callahan (2025; Missouri State) headline an offense that can do damage in multiple ways. Landon Matthews (2026) has stepped into the role of staff ace in his sophomore season, pitching to a 1.23 ERA in a team high 45 ⅔ innings of work. Drew Pickering (2026) holds a 1.46 ERA over 38 ⅓ frames, while Renn Fiss (2025) and Tyson Oswald (2024; Wabash Valley JC) have also thrown the ball well. Several key pieces from last year’s title club return and the Lancers will look to defend their District championship this week. 

+ Eureka (23-11-1) spent the entire regular season inside our ‘Large School’ rankings and earned the No. 2 overall seed in this District. The strength of this Wildcats’ group is a deep lineup that can do damage in any given trip to the plate. Brady Picarelli (2024; Mizzou) swings one of the more powerful left-handed bats in the state, with 15 extra-base hits to his name this spring. John Nisbet (2024; Quincy) leads the team in batting average (.386), while Kyle Rehg (2025), Gavin Bradley (2024; McKendree), Ty Munk (2024), Dominic Anselmo (2024; Bradley), Will Fieser (2025), Brodie Hunt (2024), and Craig Ringe (2026) are all quality bats to know. Ralph Gianino (2025) has stepped into the role of staff ace this spring, pitching to a 1.68 ERA in a bulk workload of 41 ⅔ innings pitched. Cole Edmiston (2024) has been reliable in his 38 innings of work, while two sophomores - Jaxson Joggerst (2026) and Dane Greis (2026) - have thrown well for the Wildcats, each of them amassing 30 innings on the year. Their production on the mound will likely be the key for Eureka’s postseason success, but this roster is talented enough to envision a District championship. 

+ Parkway South (23-6), one of the hottest teams in the state, earns the third seed in this District. The Patriots have won 11 of their last 12 games, holding their opposition to one run or fewer in eight of those contests. Their pitching staff is dynamic, as Brady Kehlenbrink (2024; Mizzou) and Luke Sullivan (2025) form as productive of a one-two punch as you’ll find in Class 6. Kehlenbrink has 71 strikeouts and just 14 walks in 38 ⅔ innings on the mound, allowing 26 total hits with a 2.17 ERA. Sullivan has been excellent for the Pats, pitching to a 0.41 ERA across 34 frames with 58 punchouts and 17 walks. Enter Nate Donovan (2024), a strike-throwing senior arm that’s served as a starter and reliever for Parkway South, finding success in both roles. He holds a 0.88 ERA across 32 innings, walking only nine batters and striking out 34. Kehlenbrink and Sullivan are spearheading the offense as well, though names like Eddie Ahearn (2024), Brennan Nickerson (2024; Missouri Valley), Charlie Bennett (2024), Jamison Lombardo (2025), and Jordan Scheider (2026) are all having productive years at the plate as well. 

+ Vianney (17-16-1) is the fourth seed in this District. The Griffins have been hurt by a few injuries to key players on their roster, but this group is still a formidable bunch that’s going to be a tough draw for anyone they play. Chase Leathers (2024; Rockhurst) has paced the offense all spring, though Nolan Jaworowski (2025; Cincinnati), Sean McConchie (2024), Cole Adair (2025), and Ryker Benz (2025) have been productive as well. Derek Dankenbring (2024) has pitched to a 1.56 ERA over a team-high 40 ⅓ innings of work, walking 19 with 47 strikeouts. Charlie Spoonhour (2024; Missouri State) and Jadyn Furgason (2025; Texas A&M) have pitched like the dynamic talents that they, while Nick Steurer (2025), Zach Van Hook (2026), and Benz have all thrown the ball well too. 

+ Kirkwood (13-13) is a team that’s been coming on strong down the stretch and is the fifth seed in this District. The Pioneers have a true ace on the mound in Owen Nesslage (2025), an uncommitted left-handed junior arm that’s logged a 2.33 ERA over 42 frames with just 12 walks. Drew Timp (2025) has thrown the ball well too for Kirkwood in his opportunities, making six starts with a 2.77 ERA in 35 ⅓ innings of work. Brennan Rea (2024) paces the offense, slashing .355/.456/.605 with four home runs and seven doubles, and Jack Reed (2024) is another name to watch in this lineup. 

+ Lebanon (23-11) enters the playoffs as the sixth seed in this District. Marquette (10-19) is the seventh seed and Waynesville (3-18) is the eighth. 


Host: Kirkwood

1. Lafayette
2. Eureka
3. Parkway South 
4. Vianney
5. Kirkwood
6. Lebanon
7. Marquette
8. Waynesville