Prep Baseball Report

2015 Michigan Preseason All-State Teams

Graphic by Taylor Wilhelm with photos by Dylan Hefflinger
Follow @PBRMichigan

By Brent Alwine and Dylan Hefflinger
Michigan Scouting Director and Michigan Editor in Chief/Scout

2015 Preseason Players of the Year

Position Player of the Year Nick Plummer 2015 Brother Rice
Pitcher of the Year Tommy Henry 2016 Portage Northern

The 2015 Preseason Position Player of the Year goes to Nick Plummer. The University of Kentucky commit and draft prospect was the clear choice. According to Sean Duncan, PBR Executive Director, "Plummer will likely establish himself as one of the premier high school draft prospects in the Midwest. The physically advanced 5-foot-11, 200-pound left-handed hitter was personally the most impressive positional prospect I saw over the course of the three days (at the Music City Baseball Classic)." as seen here. According to Nathan Rode, National Supervisor, "If you've never seen him before, the first thing about Plummer that jumps out is his frame. He isn't tall, standing at 5-foot-11, but he is well put together, tipping the scales at about 200 pounds. It???s a lean, strong frame. At the plate, he has a short, compact swing with good bat speed from the left side, which he showed off all summer at national events. With his offensive potential and an up-the-middle profile, Plummer has a toolset coveted by scouts." as seen here. You can clearly say that Nick Plummer, the number one ranked player in Michigan and 5th overall ranked player for Prep Baseball Report as a whole "Has Arrived".

When it came to the 2015 Pitcher of the Year, there were a lot of choices to consider. In the 2015 class, Luke Shilling (Illinois) opened eyes at the Super 60 with a fastball reaching 95 mph as seen here. Left-handed pitcher Grant Wolfram (Central Michigan) also showcased his skills at the Super 60, as the highly-athletic lefty also drew raves with an upper 80s fastball while in the middle of his basketball season as seen here. Others that were in consideration include: Josh Smith (Kentucky), Chandler Sedat (Indiana), Collin Goslin (Michigan State), Benjamin Keizer (Michigan) and Karl Kauffmann (Michigan).

The 2015 Preseason Pitcher of the Year goes to Tommy Henry. The University of Michigan commit was outstanding as a sophomore for Portage Northern and looks to eclipse those numbers in his junior year. As a sophomore, the lefty went 7-1 with a .85 ERA in 53 innings pitched while striking out 72. The southpaw has a very projectable frame at 6-foot-4, 160-pounds with plenty of room to fill out and add velocity. His arm works easily and very clean to go along with smooth mechanics. It will be fun to watch Tommy develop over the next couple of years under coach Chris Andrews.


C Trent Thiesen 2015 Saline
CIF Eric Gilgenbach 2015 Stoney Creek
CIF C.J. Huntley 2015 Mattawan
MIF Connor Smith 2015 Midland Dow
MIF Wyatt Morrison 2015 Kalamazoo Central 
OF Nate Grys 2015 Bishop Foley
OF Jacob Vander Wal 2015 Forest Hills Central
OF Steve Mann 2017 Country Day
P Luke Shilling 2015 Notre Dame Prep
P Grant Wolfram 2015 Hamilton
P Karl Kauffman 2016 Brother Rice
P Ben Keizer 2015 Portage Northern
P Chandler Sedat 2015 West Bloomfield
UTIL Tyler Schmidt 2015 Lexington - Croswell
UTIL Drew Blakely 2016 Gull Lake
UTIL Adam Proctor 2017 St. Johns



C Evan Kratt 2015 Richmond
CIF Jarod Burton 2015 Gull Lake
CIF Caleb Balgaard 2017 Howell
MIF Riley McCauley 2015 Sterling Heights Stevenson
MIF Thomas Miller 2016 Saline
OF Brian Cappiello 2015 Grandville
OF Keegan Kenny 2016 Traverse City West
OF Daniel Robinson 2015 Grosse Pointe North
P Jesse Heikkinen 2017 Holt
P Bryce Kelley 2016 Rockford
P Mason Erla 2016 Cass City
P Collin Goslin 2015 Divine Child
P John Baker 2016 Hartland
UTIL Drake Titus 2016 Orchard Lake St. Mary's
UTIL Josh Smith 2015 Saline
UTIL Joey Prechtel 2016 Rochester Adams



P Jorge Lozano 2015 Spring Lake
P Jake Stout 2015 Rochester 
C/RHP Grant Hartwig 2016 Detroit Catholic Central
P Cameron Miller 2016 Lake Orion
MIF Bailey Peterson 2016 Grandville
C Michael Ryan 2016 Bishop Foley
MIF Drew DeVine 2016 Marshall
P Thomas Brumfield 2016 Bishop Foley
P Nathan Lohmeier 2016 Hartland
MIF Devin Hager 2016 Walled Lake Northern
P Michael Mokma 2016 Holland Christian
P Caleb Scoles 2016 Gull Lake
P Jack Weisenburger 2016 Rockford
P Tyler Thorington 2016 Wyandotte Roosevelt 
OF Preston Pilat 2016 Brother Rice
UTIL Blake Dunn 2017 Saugatuck
UTIL Nate Jones 2017 Battle Creek Lakeview
C Nate Stephens 2017 Lowell
SS/P Shane Easter 2017 Cornstock
SS/P Spencer Schwellenbach 2018 Saginaw