Prep Baseball Report

WIAA Teams to Watch: Burlington

By: Isaiah Glidden
Area Scout, Content

The 2024 Wisconsin high school baseball season is here and, as usual, excitement is abound throughout the state. Players and coaches have been working in preparation for the spring season and, as is the case each year, there are some very talented players and teams across the Badger State.

Teams across the state have goals and aspirations to finish their seasons in their respective WIAA Division State Championship, but there is plenty of work to be done before that becomes reality. In the weeks leading up to the opening day, we released our initial Power 25 Rankings, which can be found here. Now we will take a look at teams that earned Power 25 consideration with these 'Teams to Watch' pieces.

Please keep checking back throughout the season as we will be your one-stop shop for everything related to high school baseball across Wisconsin. Each week we will be releasing our Power 25, Players of the Week, Diamond Notes, Scout Blog and much more.

Our 2024 season coverage continues today.   

High School:Burlington Demons
Head Coach: Scott Staude
WIAA Division: 1
Conference: Southern Lakes
2023 Record (Finish): 21-10 (D1 State Quarterfinalists)

Key Players Lost: Kaleb Zabielski, Wren Dietz (Wisconsin-Stevens Point (Volleyball))



No. of Returning Starters: 3
No. of Returning Pitchers: 4

Aben Beinlich WI 2024 INF/RHP Wisconsin-Parkside
Ethan Pedersen WI 2024 LHP -
Andrew Roanhouse WI 2024 OF -
Matthew Wasik WI 2024 C -
Robbie Behnke WI 2024 1B -
Carter Baumeister WI 2025 INF/RHP -
Jack Sagedal WI 2025 UTIL -
Weston Kairis WI 2025 RHP -
Trey Kerkhoff WI 2026 3B/RHP -

Last season, RHP/INF Aben Beinlich (2024; Wisconsin-Parkside) was a huge reason for the Demons’ State Tournament run, as he posted a 2.58 ERA while also hitting .344 and heading into his senior season, he will be looked to even more. RHP/INF Carter Baumeister (2025) is another name expected to make some big two-way contributions, as he batted to a .302 average last year and saw quality innings on the mound.

LHP Ethan Pedersen (2024) and RHP Weston Kairis (2025) will be looking to take on larger roles in the rotation this season, too.

Offensively, UTIL Jack Sagedal (2025), OF Andrew Roanhouse (2024), C Matthew Wasik (2024) and 1B Robbie Behnke (2024) return quality work from last season.