2021 Frederick County Season Preview

Kyle Campbell
Maryland Scouting Director

ef32ewf Follow @PBRMaryland
Facebook & Instagram


It's an odd year to say the least with counties and conferences across the state beginning their seasons at different times. With some already underway, we turn our attention to another that will open their season this week. In a normal year, the ten Frederick County schools play inside the Central Maryland Conference with Washington County. But this year isn't normal and Washington County started their season four weeks. Therefore, the ten schools listed below make up the Frederick County high school baseball conference for 2021. Opening day is set for this Friday, May 7th and schools will play each other twice for a total of 18 regular season games ending on June 16th. Below is the breakdown of the Frederick County schools as well as a complete "Watch List" of players you won't want to miss in action this spring. 

Note: A preseason questionnaire was sent out to all Maryland high school baseball coaches in Mid-January to gain pertinent information for this piece but not all forms were completed and returned. Below is a compilation of information received as well as thoughts from our staff at PBR Maryland.


Frederick COUNTY

School MPSSAA Classification Region Alignment  Follow on Social Media
Brunswick Railroaders Class 1A West Region II N/A
Catoctin Cougars Class 1A West Region II @CHSBaseballMD
Frederick Cadets Class 3A West Region I @CadetBaseball_
Linganore Lancers Class 3A West Region I @GoLHSbaseball
Middletown Knights Class 2A West Region II @gomhsbaseball
Oakdale Bears Class 2A West Region II @OakdaleBase
Thomas Johnson Patriots  Class 3A West Region I @tj_patriot
Tuscarora Titans Class 3A  West Region I @TUSC_Baseball
Urbana Hawks Class 4A West Region II @urbanabaseball
Walkersville Lions Class 2A  West Region II @WHS_Baseball



PLayers to Watch List



Brunswick Railroaders

Kyle Cruz P 2021
Oliver Ellison RHP/OF 2023
Noland Genies INF 2022 (Top Video Below)
Joseph Sweeney C/OF 2022 (Middle Video Below)
Adam Watkins P 2021 (Bottom Video Below)





Catoctin Cougars

Bryson Cabellero RHP/INF 2021 (Florence-Darlington Tech JC)
Dylan Click INF 2021
Dustin Isanogle C 2021 (Messiah College)
Nolan Kinna RHP 2022
Joseph McMannis RHP 2023 (Maryland)
Ayden Shadle LHP 2021 (Shenendoah) (Top Video Below)
Logan Simanski INF 2022
Dalton Williams OF/RHP 2022 (Mount St. Mary's) (Final Two Videos Below)
JJ Zirkle LHP 2021 (Messiah)





Frederick Cadets

Kyle Brown C 2021 (McDaniel College) (Top Video Below)
Brady Macdonald RHP/3B 2021
Jack Surdez RHP/OF 2021 (Grinnell College) (Middle Video Below)
Scott Wilson SS/RHP 2021 (Bottom Video Below)





Linganore Lancers

Matt Cunningham RHP/SS 2021 (Mount St. Mary's)
Frank Dickenson OF/C 2021 (First Video Below)
Adam Everett P/OF 2021 (Salisbury)
Kai Hardesty RHP/1B 2021 (Second Video Below)
Austin May RHP 2022 (Third Video Below)
Ben Moore LHP 2022
Cameron Rokisky RHP 2021 (Marshall) (Fourth Video Below)
Ryan Sachar RHP/UTL 2021




Middletown Knights

Fredy Diaz Jr SS 2024 (Top Video Below)
Zach Martin OF 2021 (Maryland) (Bottom Video Below)
Paul McHugh UTL 2021
Joshua Wagner OF/SS 2021 (Hood College)
Chase Weller C 2021 (Dickenson)





Oakdale Bears

Dylan Bliven RHP 2021 (Top Video Below)
Tommy Grace INF 2021
Nick Miller C/OF 2024 (Middle Video Below)
Evan Shultz LHP/OF 2023 (Bottom Video Below)





Thomas Johnson Patriots

Danny Orr MIF 2024 
Jacob Orr SS 2021 (Maryland) (First Video Below)
Jay Parente LHP 2022 (Second Video Below)
Ryan Yammarino 3B 2021 (Third Video Below)
Trevor Yusko C 2021 (Frostburg State) (Fourth Video Below)



Tuscarora Titans

Ryan Blaszczak RHP 2021
Andrew Edwards RHP 2022
Kade Linton C/1B 2022
Tyler Little OF/2B 2023 (Top Video Below)
Kyle Sanger OF 2022 (Bottom Video Below)
Jackson Vantassell RHP 2021 (Radford)





Urbana Hawks

Gavin Allanach RHP/OF 2023
Zack Baker C 2021
Luke Boyd RHP/SS 2023
Eli DeRossi-Cytron RHP 2023 (First Video Below)
Joey Galloway 3B 2021 (Penn State-Brandywine)
Mikey Gonzalez OF 2021
Keegan Johnson LHP/OF 2023 (Second Video Below)
Brody Lindsey 1B/3B 2022
Garrett Osborne RHP/1B 2021 (Third Video Below)
Reece Prahl 1B 2021
Prince Proctor OF/SS 2021
Andrew Purcell C/3B 2023 (Fourth Video Below)
Luke Rivera OF/C 2023
Julian Samonte INF 2021
Riley Smith OF 2023 (Fifth Video Below)
Brendan Yagesh LHP/1B 2022 (Sixth Video Below)





Walkersville Lions

Brandon Buschman RHP 2022
George Childers OF/C 2021
Logan Cornish RHP 2022
Adam Dellamura RHP/INF 2022
Jack Edwards INF 2022
Gavin Hughes C/OF 2023
David Karszan UTL 2021
Lennon Kryzniak RHP 2021
Dylan Polchito C/UTL 2021
Travis Remsburg RHP 2022
Dylan Riggs INF 2023
Justin Ropp 2B/SS 2021 (Top Video Below)
Andrew Stroka RHP/OF 2021
Gavin Swaney C 2021 (Hood College) (Bottom Video Below)